Johanna ÖstJohanna Öst

The blog of Swedish artist Johanna Öst.

California 2013: Palm Springs day two

Apr 17, 2013 in Travels and My photos

[Image]

I don’t have many photos from this day since most of it was spent on a great guided tour of Palm Springs’ mid century architecture. Our hotel had (oh so comfortable) bikes to loan so we took a nice bike ride to the Palm Springs visitors center at the very edge of Palm Springs, where our tour started.

We were in a car for the duration of the tour and didn’t really have time for pictures but we saw so many amazing houses, now I really want an Alexander house! I highly recommend taking the Palm Springs Modern tour with Robert Imber if you’re at all into mid century modern architecture.

[Image]

The amazing San Jacinto mountains as seen from the visitors center.

[Image]

I wore an Etsy top (I shortened it into a crop top since the fabric had kind of warped around the body further down), my bikini bottoms which are an old Ebay find, the same gold sandals, my Marimekko bag and a sunhat that was my mother’s.

[Image]
[Image]

Henrik looking cool in a desert landscape.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

Inside the visitors center there were lots of great books and vintage postcards. I kind of regret not buying the Salton Sea ashtray as seen on the top shelf. I didn’t get it since I don’t smoke and I never even saw the Salton Sea, but I still want it! It really speaks to my deep affinity for old souvenirs. I also wish I’d gotten the book on the Alexander houses.

[Image]

About to take a nightly dip in the pool!

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]