Johanna ÖstJohanna Öst

The blog of Swedish artist Johanna Öst.

Road trip

Aug 3, 2013 in Travels and My photos

[Image]

A couple of days ago we got back from a road trip through southern Sweden.

When I was a kid my family went on vacation somewhere in Sweden every summer, but Henrik and I have never really traveled in Sweden as grown ups, so I’ve been wanting to do this for a while. I wanted to go on a road trip to see many places, but we had to cut it down to just southern Sweden, and about 6 overnight stops.

[Image]

Our first stop was Karlstad, where we saw this beautiful archway.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

A really nice functionalist 30s or 40s building, but this photo doesn’t quite do it justice.

[Image]

Great 30s display figure in a shop window.

[Image]

I finally had a chance to visit the great vintage shop Tidens Melodi. Highly recommended! I bought the perfect fitting tailored suit jacket for a very reasonable price, and a wonderful green clear plastic belt.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

Very cool peace statue in Karlstad.

[Image]

Nice mid century bleacher building.

[Image]

On the road again going south.

[Image]
[Image]

I tried to take photos of buildings as we drove by. I really liked this old factory building.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

The landscape got flatter and flatter.

[Image]

I like the shape of this mid century building, and the chimney.

[Image]
[Image]

The next day was spent at Nordens Ark, a zoo that breeds endangered species. I was surprised when the cashier at the entrance recognised me from my blog (hej om du läser det här!). This is an Amur tiger, also known as Siberian tiger.

[Image]

It’s surreal seeing a tiger in the Swedish landscape like this. The enclosure was huge.

[Image]

A more familiar animal, the wolverine. These cubs were crazy active and probably a bit too fond of showing off for the humans, they weren’t scared at all.

[Image]
[Image]

Probably my favourite animal of the day, Pallas’s cat. Google them, they are amazing.

[Image]

Next morning, taking a walk in a field by our hostel for the night. We went to Göteborg after this, the second largest city in Sweden, but I don’t have any photos of that since we spent most of the day at amusement park Liseberg without a camera. You can see some of it on my Instagram.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

Next activity was a hike in Kullaberg, a nature reserve on the west coast. There were lots of these nice bugs with metallic blue bellies.

[Image]

Snack break.

[Image]

Climbing a really, really steep and really, really tall stair/cliff.

[Image]
[Image]

Climbing up again.

[Image]

We got our first good look at the ocean.

[Image]
[Image]

A very majestic bull.

[Image]

A couple of days later we were in Österlen on the very southern tip of Sweden, on our way to the beach.

[Image]

We had an absolutely wonderful day lazing and bathing at a fantastic beach. I’ve never really bathed in the ocean like this before with warm water and warm white sand.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

In the evening we went to see Ale’s Stones, a very old mysterious stone monument.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

The view on our way back to the car.

[Image]

We spent the last night at a wonderful hostel at culture reserve Åsens by, “an example of what a Småland village looked like 100 years ago”. We had our own little cottage!

[Image]

Swatting flies.

[Image]

Our cottage.

[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]
[Image]

The End! But there’ll be some more photos from our trip when I blog July’s instagram pictures.